A Simple Fix for Greasy Hair (it’s not dry shampoo)

img_5359

I first noticed greasiness in my hair about five years ago. It felt like buildup in one section of my hair that was there even after washing it. I did some research and decided that switching to sulfate free shampoo, might be the fix I needed. This launched me into years of trying various sulfate-free shampoos, experimenting with clarifying shampoos, apple cider vinegar rinses, dry shampoos, all without much luck. When I started college, things seemed to get better but was still inconsistent. Every time I got a hair cut, my hair would be rid of the greasy buildup, but it would gradually build up again. I asked the hairdresser I used in college and the one at home, and both suggested different things like washing my hair less frequently combined with dry shampoo or using a clarifying shampoo once a week, but nothing really solved my problem. My hair would only get worse when I was home from college, but it also seemed to magically get better when I was on vacation and washing my hair with hotel shampoos. I though maybe the hotel shampoos would work for me at home, but my hair still felt weighed down again when I was using them at home. After years of this, it finally dawned on me that my problem might not be with the shampoo I was using, but the water! Or more specifically, the water pressure. And sure enough, when I started showering in the guest bathroom in my house which has stronger pressure than my shower, my hair didn’t have buildup or greasiness after washing it.

I figured that the pressure in my shower was being slowed due to mineral buildup in the shower head over the years, so I unscrewed it and put it in a bowl of vinegar with a little water to dilute it and let it sit overnight. I also gave it a scrub with an old toothbrush. I put it back on the shower nozzle and it seems like I’ve finally solved my problem, five years later! I can’t believe it took me so long to figure this out and the fix was so simple and inexpensive all along.

Leave a Reply

